Music critique by sarcastic girl: commercialization = bad

Standard

Being commercial is a good thing, if you’re a shampoo or a box of butter, not if you are an artist. I am all for being more commercial to sell more albums, but please don’t pull a Famous 180 on me (see post Famous 180) if I’m supporting you as a starving artists.

I have two bad examples of artists becoming more commercial than a product placement of a can of Ginger Ale in The Real World:

Pink before

Pink After

– Pink:

What did you do Pink? I loved you so much in 1999 when you had your hair Pink (duh!) and were a really fun, independent and rebel R&B artist with a great voice:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGfz0fv5wfQ

I loved your songs, I loved your beat, I loved your style. You were one of the artists that made me fall for Hip Hop and R & B.

Why did you become the poster child of a bubble gum Pop Star?, you said you wouldn’t and that ” LA told you, you’ll be a pop star, all you have to change is everything you are” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=asaCQOZpqUQ

KATY PERRY:

Eventhough I hate her a little bit less now that she has a good song that didn’t seem to belong in a R rated version of  The Muppets (E.T, which I love). She really dissapointed me with songs like California Girls (I refuse to misspell that word) and Teenage Dream, which lacked good music, originality or brain cells involved in the creative process.

Why Katy? I loved you and supported you so much when you had songs as “You’re so Gay”, “I kissed a girl” and “Hot and Cold”, I even defended you from accusations that said that you used gay references to get attention (See her 2 first songs).  You were so indie, original and cool. So” American Lilly Allen” (sigh)  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWbLkXhGEmo

Now I just like you because of E.T. which made the memory of you being a good artist die a little bit slower, and because I have a crush on your husband, that is all. Because you are more Barbie Malibu than the music from the cartoon I watched when I was 10: Jem & the Hollograms, it doesn’t help that you look like them. At least you still have your good voice and it doesn’t hurt to use cotton candy as an outfit.

I just hope that now that my beloved Marina and the Diamonds is opening your tour you don’t turn her into Barbie’s black hair friend (I don’t remember her name)

Katy Perry (ehem Jem)

About One Day in the Life of a Sarcastic Girl (sarcasticbloggirl)

Sarcastic humour, lyrics connoisseur, music lover, comedy lover, wannabe writer, Seinfeld lover, indie pop lover, Harry Potter biggest fan I love reality TV and how you watch it without using your brain I have a hard time not telling people what I think of them all the time I was going to be a lawyer, I can argue a case, even with myself I was addicted to sugar and I had so much that I got tired of it I like rap and hip hop too much for a girl I am obsesive-compulsive about personal hygiene My philosophy in life is "Learn from every mistake"... I'm working on not dwelling on every mistake too much

Leave a Reply

