Too good to be true: Lonely if you don’t have “someone” and insecure when you do

Standard

It is hard to be an overthinking girl, really hard sometimes. Specially when you overthink little details about someone that you are dating.

It is typical and almost expected to share long conversations over the phone with other girlfriends commenting on stupid details of what the guy did and didn’t do.

So I ask myself: What do we want? Are we unhappy alone and unhappy with someone?

In this world in which accepting some types of verbal abuse (a guy comparing you to an animal as a “joke”) can be seen as being flexible and accepting for some, and as “something I’d never do, he can go f#$% himself by others; it is really easy to question your standards.

And what happens when you meet someone that happens to be cute, smart, funny, ambitious and thinks that you are the cutest and most gorgeous woman ever? Then you think that it’s to good to be true, and start poking around to find the button to press to turn this prince into the frog that he should be, because all guys have one right?

When you see so few relationships that are normal, balanced and happy; and most of them seem to be too much about settling and compromising things that should be non-negotiable; it is really easy to think that every relationship has an expiration date,  that is a scary thought.

Also, it is really hard to choose a friend that you’ll ask for advice, if everyone has such different points of view about standards on relationships, from the friend who thinks that a guy that cheated 4 times deserves a chance because he said that he was sorry, to the friend that needs to get to know a guy for 4 months before an official first date.

This is confusing and makes me want to go back to simpler times when cardboard boxes where dream houses and you could color outside of the lines.

About One Day in the Life of a Sarcastic Girl (sarcasticbloggirl)

Sarcastic humour, lyrics connoisseur, music lover, comedy lover, wannabe writer, Seinfeld lover, indie pop lover, Harry Potter biggest fan I love reality TV and how you watch it without using your brain I have a hard time not telling people what I think of them all the time I was going to be a lawyer, I can argue a case, even with myself I was addicted to sugar and I had so much that I got tired of it I like rap and hip hop too much for a girl I am obsesive-compulsive about personal hygiene My philosophy in life is "Learn from every mistake"... I'm working on not dwelling on every mistake too much

Leave a Reply

